Matthew 6:19-21 – Treasures in Heaven

Standard

Matthew 6.19-21.rev2

Matthew 6:19-21

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth,

where moth & rust destroy, where thieves break in and steal

But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven

where neither moth nor rust destroy and where thieves do not break in and steal.

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

***

Application: I think of the story Jesus tells in Matthew 13 of a man who finds a treasure in a field accidentally … ecstatic with joy he goes and sells everything he has to buy that field! If only our own hearts realized what we have found in Jesus, then we too would give anything for that treasure.

I’ve thought to myself: what to me would be a treasure in heaven? As a father, if my children were in heaven eternally worshipping God beside me, this would be a greater treasure than any wealth on earth I can imagine. I guess some of these songs are a part of my effort to show my children Jesus – as I pray that Jesus draws them to himself.

Thanks to my wife for the cool harmonies. Hope nobody minds the kind of retro-70′s folk tones in this song!

Leave a Reply

